State football coaches select West York’s Terry Bupp for Hall of Fame induction


A West York High School football institution has been inducted into the Pennsylvania State Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Terry Bupp is part of a class of 2022 of six members.

The longest-serving coach in West York football history, Bupp graduated in 1965 from York High and graduated in 1969 from the University of Richmond.

Please consider subscribing to support local journalism.

After graduating from Richmond, Bupp served in the United States Army before beginning his career as a math teacher and football coach with the West York Area School District in 1973. Bupp remained in West York until his retirement in 2006.

Bupp coached football at West York for 33 years, the last 24 of which as Bulldogs head coach from 1982 to 2005.

He finished his career with a record of 152-97-3.

During his career, Bupp’s Bulldogs won eight York-Adams championships and earned seven playoff berths in District 3. In 1988 and 1991, Bupp’s teams won Class 2-A District 3 titles and entered the state playoffs. His 1997 team were District 3 2-A silver medalists. The 1988 state tournament appearance was the first for any York County football program.

Bupp was also chosen as the head coach for two York County All-Star games against Lancaster County in 1990 and 2005.

Bupp has earned York-Adams Division II Coach of the Year honors eight times.

This isn’t Bupp’s first Hall of Fame selection. He was also inducted into the York Area Sports Hall of Fame in 2001 and the inaugural West York High Football Club Hall of Fame in 2016.

Bupp also served as West York’s baseball head coach for 18 years and served as a PIAA basketball official for 48 years.

Other inductees: Others selected for induction are Mick Vecchio, Rick Pennypacker, Rick Taylor, Tom Nola and Jerry Wasilack.

Vecchio won 11 league championships during 26 seasons at Governor Mifflin in Berks County. He retired as head coach after the 2017 season with 181 wins, the third in Berks football history.

In Pottsgrove, Montgomery County, Pennypacker won nine conference championships, four District 1 titles and had six undefeated regular seasons. His overall head coaching record was 237-99-3.

Taylor, at Springfield High in Delaware County, had two Central League champions in 1989 and 1994 while compiling 129 wins.

Nola had a record 66-game winning streak at Clairton High in Allegheny County. His teams have won six District 7 crowns and four state championships.

Wasilack led Lakeland High in Lackawanna County to 143 wins and 62 losses in 20 seasons from 1965 to 1984, winning multiple conference crowns.

The class of 2022 will be inducted on Saturday. The ceremony will take place in the auditorium of Bishop McDevitt High School at 3 p.m. The event will be streamed live on

Contact Steve Heiser at [email protected] or on Twitter at @ydsports.


Comments are closed.